BHAR

BIHAR STATE POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD Parivesh Bhawan, Patliputra Industrial Area, P.O.-Sadakat Ashram, Patna-800010 EPABX.0612-2261250/2262265, Fax.0612-2261050

Notification No. 20

Patna, dated- 22.9.21

NOTIFICATION

Considering the recent technological development in pollution control systems, Ethanol Blending Programme (EBP) of the Govt. of India, Statutory recommendations under the Environment (Protection) Rules, 1986, with regard to air pollution control equipment with the boiler for control of particulate matter emission, representations of ISMA & AIDA followed by meetings and keeping in views of overall environmental, social and economic benefit "the previous siting/distance criteria (500 meter) for the establishment of grains based distillery with respect to SH/NH & Railway line has been reduced to 200 meter vide Board's ref. no. 976, dated-22.06.2021. The distance/ criteria with respect to habitation, river, school, hospital shall remain unchanged (i.e. 500 meter). Therefore, it is notified that the proposed grain based distillery units shall have following measures to control particulate matter emission:-

- 1. The proposed unit shall ensure installation of Electro Static Precipitator (ESP) for control of particulate matter emission from the stack attached with boiler having equal to or more than 15 ton per hour steam generation capacity to comply with the prescribed emission standards;
- The proposed unit having boiler of less than 15 TPH steam generation capacity shall ensure to install cyclone/multi-cyclone/wet scrubber for control of particulate matter emission from the stack to comply with the prescribed emission standards;
- The fuel (rice husk/bagasse) shall be stored under covered shed to avoid any fugitive emission;
- 4. Plantation shall be done in accordance with the environmental clearance conditions; and
- 5. The aforesaid revised siting/distance criteria for grant of Consent-to-Establish (CTE) to grain based distilleries shall be applicable on such proposals *w.e.f.* 22.06.2021.

(S. Chandrasekar) Member Secretary.